echolocation

30 July, 2008 at 2:54 pm ()

For my own piece, my intention is to create a sound installation that takes its inspiration from the ultrasonic biosonar calls of the bats that visit the garden in the evening.  My plan is to position a series of bat detectors along the River Cherwell, which runs alongside the botanic garden, and then feed the output of these into my Kyma system in order to manipulate the sounds and turn them into something musical.

I ordered my bat detectors today from Magenta Electronics who were not only enthusiastic about my idea but also keen to support the project, so that’s good news!

Leave a Reply

