final week

1 September, 2008 at 11:59 am ()

For this final week I am resident at the Botanical Garden, setting up my various sound installations.  In the end, I will have seven pieces: 4 dna compositions (previously created for the Hannah Peschar Sculpture Garden), an insect piece (created last summer for La Cité des Insectes), my new bat installation, and also the Predator soundscape that I have composed with St Barnabas Primary School – so, a lot to be getting on with as each requires setting up in their own particular way.

I have been allowed to set up all my equipment in a Temperate Zone Cactus Greenhouse, next to where my bat installation will be and full of plants I mustn’t touch, and with the windows open so that it is always cool – I even have cooler fans!  What a pity it’s not warm outside!!  As well as the cactuses I seem to be sharing my accommodation with a rather beautiful spider, which sits to my left, waiting for its next meal.

There is a sense of excitement in the air at the Garden now as all the artists involved in Magic Hour are also on site, preparing for the public performances on Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights.

Leave a Reply

