weather

2 September, 2008 at 11:48 am ()


The weather in Oxford has been pretty blustery, with bouts of wind and the occasional heavy shower.  Actually, today’s not too bad, but we had a lot of weather yesterday.

The changing conditions are ideal for testing the durability of each installation’s set-up outside.  I was concerned, for example, if whether the weatherproof housing for my bat detectors would be effective in a strong wind.  Well, we’ve had the weather to prove that not only is this the case but that the bat detectors can survive a lot of rainwater!  (I left them out to record overnight last night, and when I arrived this morning I realised there had been quite a downpour).

This is all good stuff as the time to test everything is now.  Much better this way than perfect weather on the run-up to the event, and then posed with with a testing performance environment.

Leave a comment